Different Types Of Font A

In historical classification Different Types Of Font A are divided by the above-named signs on three types:

  • Antikva
  • The Egyptian
  • Grotesque

Antikva is in turn subdivided into three groups in which vary contrast force between strokes and a form of notches. In an old, or humanistic antikva contrast is swept a little up, and notches are thickened and rounded slightly off. In a transitional antikva contrast moderate, and the configuration of notches is brought closer to a triangle form. Strong contrast and the thin, extended notches are characteristic of a new or classical antikva. A specific place among fonts of this type is held by a so-called tape antikva with poorly expressed contrasts and notches.

The Egyptian fonts conduct the origin from the Ancient Egyptian letters executed on the papyrus (and some have the form of bars, for example, Memphis, from here the modern name of fonts – bar). Over time a part of the Egyptian fonts evolved towards thinning of connecting strokes and notches.

Grotesque fonts have neither contrasts, nor notches, strokes in them are allocated, as a rule, with fat content of a tracing. Probably, this singularity of the drawing and blackness of lines formed the basis for their name (fr. Grotesque — fancy, comical). In advertising departments of the Russian newspapers they appeared in the first quarter of the 19th century and long time did not go beyond this department. Today, with the big basis, these fonts called chopped are widely applied in headings and texts.

  • Text
  • Title
  • Accidental

Text fonts — the fonts intended for printing of the main text of books, magazines and newspapers; these are fonts of rather small size — from 0 to 12 points.

Classification of typographical fonts
Different Types Of Font A can conditionally be divided on:

Title fonts — fonts of larger size — from 14 to 48 points applied to a set of titles, covers, headings, newspaper headings and various accidental works. Many fonts contain title fonts (on a size), others are only title. Fonts of small and large size of the same font can be used: the first — as text, the second — as title.

Accidental fonts — fonts mainly decorative, imitating, and also fonts of large size. Poster and poster fonts belong to accidental fonts. The size (size) of a font is determined by a capital (header) letter.

Classification of computer fonts

Adapting to ample opportunities of the electronic equipment, artists created the mass of new fonts, keeping traditions of old schools. But new technologies demanded also new classification characteristics of the fonts caused by system and company distinctions of computers and that language environment in which they were created. Yarmola about computer fonts provides their following classification accepted in the Microsoft Windows system in the book:

  • Roman – this group defines serif types (for example, Tayms and Bodoni);
  • Swiss – group of chopped fonts with the variable thickness of strokes (Gelvetika, Futur, etc.);
  • Modern – group into which fonts with the constant thickness of strokes enter (Courier);
  • Script – group of a cursive;
  • Decorative – group of decorative fonts;
  • Do not Know – fonts about which there is no information.

However, this classification has quite general character. More fully and concretely the description of fonts on the IBM Classification system. It also is more approximate to the acquaintance to us historical classification:

The first group is made here by the Oldstyle Serifs fonts based on Latin tradition of the XV-XVII centuries. They correspond with humanistic antikvy, small contrast and smooth transition of strokes to notches are inherent in subclasses (sets) of this group.